Quote of the day

12 05 2008

Quote of the day
http://www.time.com/time/quotes
_____________________________

time quote

Open quoteWe cannot operate without private security firms in Iraq. If the contractors were removed, we would have to leave Iraq.Close quote

PATRICK F. KENNEDY
the State Department’s under secretary of state for management, on the decision to renew Blackwater’s license, despite deaths and inquiries into the contractor’s conduct





Can you say… awkward???

12 05 2008

obamaclinton
Democratic presidential hopeful Sen. Hillary Rodham Clinton, D-N.Y., greets Obama supporter Doris Smith during a campaign stop at Tudor’s Biscuit World in Charleston, W. Va. Monday, May 12, 2008. “Oh, I didn’t want to do this,” Smith said, embarrassed, who was wearing the Obama T-shirt as Clinton walked into the restaurant. “I didn’t know she was going to be here.” (AP Photo/Elise Amendola)





Buy this house for $100 and an essay

12 05 2008

By James Mathias
100HouseContest.com
Click here for the website
______________________

house

The Idea

The general gist is this: Buy my home for $100 and an essay.

I currently have a home I’m trying to sell in a dying market, so I can move my family to Nashville for my new job and a new start. The fair market value is a bit lower than I owe, and having always been told that buying a house is a sound investment and currently experiencing exactly the opposite, has led me to take my fate out of the hands of the fickle housing market and try and get it sold for a fair price, without taking a financial hit or potentially ruining my credit.

The Prize

Built in 2005, on about 1.5 flat acres with around 1750 square feet of living space, plus a two car garage. The main living space has vaulted ceilings, central air/heat, hickory cabinets through out, ceramic tile, wall to wall carpeting, two generously sized bedrooms and a huge master suite with walk in closet and full bathroom. Additionally, there is a laundry room and a guest bathroom. Out back there is a deck that runs the entire length of the house.

Current fair market value is $180–190k

How about some photos?

How to Enter

You must write a 500 word essay on: Why you deserve to win the prize.

Once completed, mail your essay and a cashier’s check or money order* for $100(usd) made payable to James Mathias and a self-addressed & stamped envelope to the following address;

James Mathias
$100 Essay Contest
PO Box 980
Bonners Ferry, ID 83805

* Sorry, but I can’t accept any other type of payment for the entry fees.

The Catch

Here’s the rub. In order for this to work, I need at least 2500 people to enter. This is no where near an impossible feat, but it’s not going to be easy either. I think it’s worth a shot. This whole housing market thing is a real problem, and I’m trying to get real and solve it.

What happens if we don’t reach the minimum entries by the deadline? Simple, I will immediately return all collected entry fees.

Full Contest Rules

The How Come

I’m 100% tired of getting blindsided by a system that is supposed to help us get ahead and instead keeps us perpetually behind by making arbitrary rules about what is and what isn’t.

In other words; I’m fed up and I’m trying to be proactive.

Got Questions? I’ve got answers.